Defending Your Rights
At The Mussallem Law Firm, P.A., Victoria Mussallem has represented hundreds of people who have been charged with theft crimes in Jacksonville, Clay County, and Nassau County. When you are arrested or theft in Florida, it must be proven that you knowingly obtains or uses property that belongs to someone else with the intent to temporarily or permanently deprive the owner of the right to it.
There are several issues relating to the proof required in a theft case in Florida. They include identifying the person who stole the money or items, determining the value of the stolen goods, investigating witness statements, and obtaining possible video evidence, if there is any. A theft conviction will stay on your criminal record and will effect any future employment.
The value of the stolen property dictates how serious the charges can become. A misdemeanor Petit Theft charge is theft crime where the value of the stolen money or merchandise is under $300.00. If the amount is under $100.00, the theft is a misdemeanor of the second degree and is punishable by up to 60 days in jail. If the valued amount is over $100.00 and under $300.00, the theft is considered a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail.
There are also Felony theft crimes in Florida. A Grand Theft is committed when the value of the items stolen is over $300.00. This is considered a third degree felony and if convicted, you are facing up to five years in prison. If an automobile is stolen, the crime is considered Grand Theft Auto in Florida. This is also a third degree felony in Florida.
If an employee steals from a business, the crime is called Employee Theft. Prosecutors tend to look at cases of employee theft more stringently because the employee was in a position of "trust" with the employer.
If you have been convicted of prior misdemeanor petit thefts and are arrested for another theft, the misdemeanor can be filed as a Felony Petit Theft.
Dealing in Stolen Property is when you bought or sold an item you knew or should have known was stolen. Oftentimes, the selling of an item is at a pawn shop. If you knew or should have known the item was stolen and you pawned it, the police can arrest you for this second degree felony. In addition to being charged with dealing in stolen property, you can also be charged with presenting False Information to a Pawn Broker. This is a third degree felony. By signing your name and having your thumbprint taken swearing that the item belongs to you, you can be charged with both crimes.
Other theft related felony crimes in Jacksonville are Embezzlement, Failure to Return Leased Property, Unemployment Compensation Fraud and Carjacking.
If you or a loved one is charged with a theft crime in Jacksonville, contact Victoria "Tori" Mussallem for a Free Consultation at (904) 365-5200. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Roofer brothers arrested in Duval County on charges of organized fraud A pair of brothers have been arrested on out of county warrants for defrauding customers. According to an article on news4jax.com, the two men owned a
- Another Duval county police officer arrested – this time for grand theft A Neptune Beach police officer has been arrested on the charge of grand theft in Jacksonville. According to a report on jacksonville.com, the officer
- Jacksonville JEA employee arrested for grand theft and falsifying official documents Last week, an inspector at the Jacksonville Electric Authority was arrested for charges of employee theft and being a public servant that falsified