Defending Your Rights
Driving on a Suspended License
Our Jacksonville Driving Attorney has represented hundreds of people who have either been issued a citation or have been arrested for driving on a suspended license in Jacksonville, Clay County, Nassau County, and St. Johns County. About 60% of the arrests in Duval County are driving on a suspended license charges. If you are convicted of a driving on a suspended license in Florida, that will further extend out the time it will take you to get a good license. It may even put you into the category of being a Habitual Traffic Offender, which means your license will be suspended for five years and if you are caught driving on that suspension, your charge will be a felony driving crime.
In order to prove the crime of Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Jacksonville, the state attorney has to prove that you were driving on the roads of Florida, your license was suspended at the time, and you knew it was suspended or revoked.
Driving on a Suspended License is a criminal infraction in Florida. Depending on your prior citations or arrests for the crime, the new driving charge can be a misdemeanor or a felony. In these driving cases, the goal of most judges and prosecutors is for you to get a good driver’s license.
There are various reasons why your driving privileges may be suspended or revoked. A Florida driver’s license can be suspended if you do not pay your traffic tickets, if you get too many points on your license, if you owe back child support, if you have been convicted of a DUI in Florida, if you have been convicted of Reckless Driving, if you have been convicted of possession of marijuana, or you owe money on a judgment imposed against you. In order to get your license reinstated, you will need to take care of each of the problems that caused the suspension, show the Department of Motor Vehicles proof that you have resolved each issue, and pay the reinstatement fee to the DMV and get your license.
The State of Florida has a point system on driver’s license infractions. If you have 12 points within a year, your license will be suspended for 30 days. If you get 18 points in a year and a half, your license will be suspended for 3 months. If you have 24 points against your license within 3 years, your license will be suspended for a year.
Different civil infractions have different points assigned to them. If you are convicted of Reckless Driving in Jacksonville, that carries 4 points. Leaving the Scene of an Accident carries 6 points. Speeding infractions also put points on your license.