Defending Your Rights
We all hear about Arson and know it has to do with setting property on fire. What is less known is how serious the law and punishment of Arson is in Florida. Depending on whether people are present when the fire is set, the crime of Arson is either a first or second degree felony. Either way, this Florida crime is punishable by years in prison.
When someone is convicted of willfully setting fire to a home where someone is present, a structure (a building with a roof) in which people are normally present, or a structure where the suspect knows a human is present, the crime is considered Arson in the first degree. This is punishable by up to 30 years in prison. If someone sets fire to any property where a person is not present or in danger, this is considered Arson as a second degree felony. (even is it is your property) This crime is punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
There are also sub-crimes associated with Arson in Florida. If you commit an arson and any person is injured in any way, this is a first degree misdemeanor. If the harm to another is great bodily harm, this is a second degree felony. Preventing the putting out of a fire is also a crime. If you interfere with the Fire Department putting out the fire, you can be arrested for a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
Please contact our Jacksonville Arson Attorney for a Free Consultation at (904) 365-5200.