Defending Your Rights
When someone is accused of Aggravated Assault in Florida, they are being accused of intentionally threatening to commit violence against another person, having the ability to carry out that violence and making the victim fearful - all while using a deadly weapon or with the intent to commit a felony against that person.
Aggravated Assault charges usually stem from an argument. An argument gone bad. All it takes is one person, the alleged victim, telling police someone threatened them with a gun. There doesn't have to be any witnesses. There doesn't even have to be a gun found. Just the word of one person. And that word can not only have you arrested for a third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison. It can also subject you to a minimum mandatory time in prison. Minimum mandatory prison terms are day-for-day, meaning getting time off for good behavior does not apply. That means if you are sentenced to 3 years in prison, you will serve all 3 years. In Florida, Aggravated Assault a minimum mandatory sentence can be 3 years and if charged under the 10-20-Life Statute, 10 years in prison.
These minimum mandatory sentences can be waived by the State Attorney's Office and it is important to consult with an Experienced Aggravated Assault Attorney about your charges. Call us anytime for a Free Consultation at (904) 365-5200.